Posted by: Bruno | October 3, 2008

The path to Blizzcon

In exactly a week, at this time, I’ll be in a plane going to what I consider my greatest folly as is right now, Blizzcon.

Folly? Yes because I never took a plane, I never went so deep into Uncle Sam’s empire, I never even thought of going to Blizzcon until I saw the announcement and told myself I WILL go.

The path to go there was very gruelling and not a pleasant one, I stumbled upon many obstacle to get the trip going. The greatest of all, was to actually get the tickets to go to that damned convention. The side unexpectedly borked after a flood of millions wanted to buy their tickets at the same time. The next day, I was finally able to take my tickets for grab, ahead of millions who where rushing in to grasp a chance to go to the convention. It was simply sheer luck.

Once obtained, getting the hotel (which was also my first time organizing such trick) and plane booking was a total sinch, we struck a good deal in a good hotel simply a block away from the Anaheim convention center, I couldn’t be more happy.

But the wall, the monster of all problem, came in my face. I needed a passport. A task that, for some, is easily done, I couldn’t go through the process right away. First of, getting offical ids, mine were expired for a good two years. I don’t have a driver’s liscence and I didn’t renew my Health Insurance card. I had to go all the way to getting that piece of plastic which munched a good two weeks of my precious time and I thought I’d be good to go.

Once again I was quite wrong on the subject. Another thing I needed is a proof that I was born in Canada. I asked my mother for the magical paper only to be informed it was “lost” somewhere. I had to wait another week to get the paper and then I was able to obtain the key to enter the Uncle Sam empire.

We’re at one week of Blizzcon and I didn’t get the passport, supposedly I need to get it in person by the eight of this month, two days before going…

It was rough but the path to Blizzcon is finally opened.

Leave a Reply

Categories

